Reviews:
Do you wonder what other customers say about us?

Use the filter bar below to narrow down reviews.
H.,
Headteacher
27th April 2004
Worcestershire
School
Very impressed with the speed with which children were performing tricks with balancing peacock feathers. The little ones loved walking tightrope..
Shiel,
Headteacher
22nd April 2004
Wiltshire
School
Any negative comments relate to the time to do everything - time needed for proper demo but then not much time for children to practice (we probably need 3 days!)..
Tracey,
Educational Visits C
12th April 2004
West Midlands
School
Fantastic - Children really enjoyed this. Staff urged me to make another booking. We all had a great day and thoroughly enjoyed the performance. The children were thrilled with the chance to practice circus skills themselves and are very much looking forward to your next visit..
Linda,
29th March 2004
Wiltshire
School
Linda Kalbskopf "At KS1 (year 2) all children were very keen and every child was able to have a go at everything they wanted to. Workshop staff were very helpful and enthusiastic.\nAnna Lawrence "A wonderful session, enjoyed by all who took part. Thank you.\nClaire Lemon "An excellent morning, thoroughly enjoyed by all children and teachers alike. Fantastic equipment. All children active all the time. Great fun.\n.
Christine,
Headteacher
29th March 2004
Wiltshire
School
It was a brilliant week. All the children really enjoyed themselves. The children all learnt new skills and enjoyed taking part in the end of week show. We have had lots of comments from parents saying how impressed they were with the show and with the skills the children picked up within a week..
Linda,
Teacher
29th March 2004
Wiltshire
School
Staff, children and parents all had a thoroughly good week. It was a great way to start our Year of Maths..
J.M.,
24th March 2004
Wiltshire
School
Excellent. Children would have liked more time and as much we will book you again for a longer period!.
Lorna,
15th March 2004
Cheshire
School
We enjoyed the workshop. Great opportunity for children to learn new skills ie share with each other. There was a range of skills for the children to try and practice. Would love to book Shooting Stars again, this time for a week so that the children can develop the skills and perform them with more mastery. Mr Grainger & his partner Jackie were warm and friendly and very helpful with the children. Please see enclosed children's letters..
Karen,
8th March 2004
Gloucestershire
School
Dear Steve\nI would just like to thank Shooting Stars and especially Jebb for your help with the Fieldmice Reunion in Quedgeley. Jebb was totally fantastic and coped with entertaining all our children from age 3 to 11. He worked exceedingly hard and the congratulations and thanks we have received from parents after the event was totally down to him. All the children thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the teachers of both schools said it was all that the children could talk about the following day.\nThank you so much for making this a day the children will remember. \nKaren Wade\nFor and on behalf of the Fieldcourt Fieldmice Committee.
Irene,
Girl Guides District
7th February 2004
Worcestershire
Brownies, Guides
Excellent! Great day, thoroughly enjoyable. Not enough time though so must come again soon..
Ros,
Headteacher
7th February 2004
Buckinghamshire
School
Fantastic! The children and staff have a fantastic week. The cross curricular support material brought by Shooting Stars is excellent. The performances (3 in all) thrill children and parents alike. Couldn't be better. .
Chamberlain,
Headteacher
26th January 2004
Gloucestershire
School
Our children have gained a great deal from their time spent with the "Shooting Stars Circus Skills team. Not only does the experience broaden the children's horizons and create a more diverse curriculum but the children become more self-aware and their coordination develops. Children are sometimes surprised at their own skills. During the two days it so often the children you would least expect who really show a natural talent for circus skills.\nWe found that the circus skills linked closely with our own work focusing on 'Thinking Skills', especially brain gym. Circus skills is one of those activities that give both sides of the brain a chance to work. Children also enjoy and learn about performing in front of an audience. The whole event can be a superb stimulus for other curriculum areas. Children are often keen to write about Circus Skills work! The children's usual comment at the end is "When will Steve & Jackie be coming again?\n.
E.,
16th January 2004
Wiltshire
School
Children loved it, really enthusiastic - want you to return. Lovely approach and manner with the students. An ideal amount of free time in the workshops for children to experience the activities - if they were longer - more structured tricks would have been good..
Janet,
PA to John Hood (Fin
10th January 2004
Warwickshire
Corporate
Brilliant evening. Very positive. Pitched at the right level, everyone left having learned a new skill. I did wonder what the reaction to this activity would be, however, everyone joined in and the feedback has all been very positive so thanks for a great evening..
R.,
Headteacher
22nd October 2003
Derbyshire
School
The kids all loved it. Excellent! (2001)\n"Brilliant day. Thank you again. (2002)\n.
Hazel,
Youth Development co
12th August 2003
Wiltshire
Youth Groups
Very Positive response. Maybe change times of activity due to young people not wanting an 'early' morning start time. Thank you! \n.
Donna,
12th August 2003
Bedfordshire
Family Event
People loved doing something different and really ebjoyed the instructor helping and making it competitive..
S.,
Headteacher
28th July 2003
Wiltshire
School
An excellent 4 days - brilliant thank you - So good to see all the children's attempts being valued! Self esteem going up and up! Confidence growing and all children did really well in the show..
Jane,
Deputy
22nd July 2003
Somerset
School
It was with nervous caution that we all welcomed your team late in the summer term to entertain and train our school of secondary aged boys, all of whom have statements for emotional and/or behavioural difficulties. Our primary concern, knowing their limited concentration spans and short fuses, was how you would engage them for a whole day? We were suitably impressed.\nIt was a most productive and rewarding day for the students and the staff. So much so, that a unicycle has been purchased and has been written into an individual education plans for one of our more difficult students. We all look forward to working with you and your team next year. Many thanks.\n.
Mary,
18th July 2003
Worcestershire
School
Excellent!! One 11 year old boy said 'The best school day I've ever had!'.
Alison,
17th July 2003
Herefordshire
School
All staff commented on how much they felt the children had gained from the circus skills experience in terms of personal development. There was plenty of equipment for all the children in each group. The children were keen to tell their parents about the activities that they had undertaken. Thank you..
Gareth,
Head of Education
17th July 2003
Oxfordshire
SEN
Excellent! A very positive 'spirit' was developed by the group. Boys willing to have a go, fail, then keep going until they succeeded. Very enjoyable and positive..
Alison,
Deputy Head teacher
17th July 2003
Herefordshire
School
Sorry for the delay in sending this, can't think of any useful comments and i didn't get to speak to many people who had attended the workshop - unfortunatly quite a few people didn't know it was there! Hope to see you again at a future event..
Liz,
School Administrator
17th July 2003
Herefordshire
School
The children had a lovely day and thoroughly enjoyed themselves! Andy willingly interrupted his lunch to fit in with visiting radio station. Brilliant Day!.
Natalie,
15th July 2003
Worcestershire
School
Excellent. I have recommended you to the person responsible for organising activities week next year..
M.,
14th July 2003
Wiltshire
School
For two girls to be confident on the large ball was excellent, also so many able to walk/use tall stilts! Tightrope skills - many enjoyed. Helping each other - good group work..
Julia,
8th July 2003
Merseyside
Pupil Referral Unit
Excellent! The whole day was brilliant. Steve and Jackie catered excellently for the boys. The programme was varied and moved at a good pace, which engaged their attention at all times. Thank you!!!.
Nicola,
PCC Secretary
6th July 2003
Oxfordshire
Family Event
Thank you very much for taking part in and supporting the Parish Room Project Launch. The event was a great sucess particularly with regard to raising the profile of the project in the local area. Many people enjoyed and will remember the event because of the circus skills, even the Bishop of Reading! Please can you express our particular thanks to Jebb for all his hard work that day, he was brilliant..
Brien,
3rd July 2003
Wiltshire
School
We were delighted with the two days your staff spent with us. The children were inspired and looked after well, which is essential for this age group. Thank you very much!.
Chris,
2nd July 2003
Greater London
School
Excellent. Good safety talk. Great equipment and demos. The Yr3's really enjoyed it and very suitable..
Vicky,
26th June 2003
Merseyside
School
'Jeb the Jester' was, from the onset, extremely friendly and professional. He remained warm and positive with the pupils at all times (he would make a good teacher!). This enabled the pupils to feel comfortable and therefore prepared to face new challanges.\nAll together approximately 200 pupils took part over the course of 2 days and then another 200 watched Jeb and some of the pupils perform.\nAll pupils without exception - loved it!\nFrom the onset this has been an extremely easy and professional company to deal with..
Alison,
21st June 2003
Worcestershire
School
Positive feedback, everyone enjoyed themselves. Nice to have learnt new tricks. Thanks very much..
Jenny,
17th May 2003
West Midlands
School
Sadly I was too busy with other things to see the sessions in progress, but I have had very positive feedback from the staff, and the children loved it!.
Dave,
1st May 2003
Merseyside
SEN
This was an excellent 2 day course. Pupil interest levels were maintained throughout. This particularly good for EBD pupils. All Pupils were challenged with new skills and achieved well. Motivation levels were high & all were keen to try all activities. It is impossible to measure the success of this course in terms of skills gained, increased self-esteem etc. However, viewing photos & video taken will give a clear picture that education is about what you see in these. Thanks very much from everyone..
Dr,
Teacher
9th April 2003
Greater London
School
Thoroughly enjoyed by all, though a few raised eyebrows from senior management. We hope to start our own after-school club next week..
Julie,
Public Health Team
8th April 2003
Vale of Glamorgan (Bro Morgannwg)
Family Event
Jebb and Nick made the sessions fun, exciting and interesting. Every child was included and encouraged to work outside their comfort zone.\nJebb and Nick were thorough gentlemen, it was great to work with them.\nA very big thank you!.
Katy,
5th April 2003
Warwickshire
School
Excellent! One mum reported that her daughter had said it was 'The best weekend of her life'!.
Graeme,
5th March 2003
Somerset
SEN
Mr Steve Grainger and his partner spent a whole week working with a group of 13 students aged 13 - 17 in January this year. The tuition was excellent, with workshops focusing on specific skills. An excellent variety of teaching methods was employed. A good awareness of the need to maintain interest levels was shown: activities were broken into manageable chunks which helped to maintain concentration. Excellent working relationships developed between tutors and learners. Students really enjoyed all aspects of Circus Skills Week, especially the show. This confirmed that the experience was valuable not only for developing physical, co-ordination skills but also inter-personal and communication skills. Changes in the students' body language were also noted during the week. To sum up: a very successful, worthwhile experience for students and staff, one which was generously resourced and efficiently managed by Mr Grainger and partner. Extremely good value for money..
Sally,
31st January 2003
Warwickshire
School
A really enjoyable day for both staff and children. Really raised self-esteem of children. Thank you..
Lisa,
Teacher
31st January 2003
Warwickshire
School
The children and staff all had a brilliant time, with plenty of interactive activities to keep the children interested during the session..
Bowyer,,
Headteacher
29th January 2003
Wiltshire
School
Thanks for an excellent day - we all loved it.
E,
29th January 2003
Wiltshire
School
This was so good we would like to book a whole week in June/July 2009 for a Circus Week with Y5/Y6 pupils..
Elisabeth,
Headteacher
29th January 2003
Wiltshire
School
Paul gave us an excellent week the children are still buzzing about it. \nThank you very much..
Stella,
28th January 2003
Greater London
School
Excellent day - Thanks very much. All the children achieved something today small and large.\n.
Ros,
Headteacher
11th January 2003
Suffolk
School
Jebb was excellent - but at times could have done with another pair of hands for safety reasons. Fantastic range of equipment and skills and pupils allowed to develop at their own pace with chosen skills. This created a huge sense of achievement for these young people..
Sally,
Acting Headteacher
18th October 2002
Gloucestershire
School
The overwhelming response from everyone involved in the day was that it was 'fantastic'. Children, staff, governors, parents, the Bishop & M.P. all had a great time. The leaders are sensitive to children's particular needs - excellent. Lots of laughing, learning of new skills and sheer enjoyment. Thanks again..
MJ,
Headteacher
9th October 2002
West Midlands
SEN
As a Headteacher of a special school for secondary aged boys with significant and persisting emotional and behavioural difficulties, I was absolutely delighted with the impact made by Shooting Stars Circus Skills. They grabbed the boys' attention from the outset, kept them motivated and positively involved throughout the day. The variety of activities was exceptional with all boys active for the whole day. Without doubt, this was the most successful activity session provided in school by external personnel. An excellent day!\nMr Quin "A truly wicked day with all the boys gaining confidence and greater self esteem. All the boys were kept motivated and on task through great leadership. Thanks for a great day.\n.
John,
Headteacher
24th June 2002
Derbyshire
School
The children thoroughly enjoyed it..
Felicity,
Headteacher
24th June 2002
Gloucestershire
School
Fantastic fun! Please can we book a 2 day period next year?.
John,
Teacher
24th June 2002
Derbyshire
School
once again - Very good throughout, we look forward to using you again, Many thanks, the children loved it!.